Follow-up on Veggie Spray

May 8, 2008 at 9:14 pm 2 comments

Homemade Veggie SprayRemember that veggie spray that I was so gung-ho about from the Oprah show? Well, I looked more into it. From what I found, I was not convinced that veggie sprays in general (commercial or home-made) are the solution to my problem of having to search high and low for organic fruits and veggies at reasonable prices. You can say that I was a bit naive to assume that I had discovered the answer to counter the world of pesticide-sprayed produce, thus trivializing the need for organic farms.

I found many MIY (make-it-yourself) recipes which included ingredients like vinegar, hydrogen peroxide, Palmolive dish soap and saw some reviews on some commercial ones (Fit, Nature Clean), but concluded that there is no wash out there that will remove all pesticides. It depends on the produce and it depends on the chemical make-up of the pesticide used. There are just some darn awful pesticides that cling tightly to the surface, get absorbed systemically, or are trapped underneath the waxy coating on produce.

However, I have been using the veggie spray recipe since finding out about it. I figure removing whatever I can from fruits and veggies was better than not doing anything at all. I deviated from the recipe a bit by eliminating the grapefruit seed extract (I had a tough time justifying spending $30 for a little bottle of that stuff). Also, because I make mine straight in the spray bottle, I made sure to add the baking soda to the vinegar/water solution slowly and then leave it uncapped overnight.  The baking soda makes it very fizzy and it will leak out of the nozzle otherwise.

My conclusion from all this:

  • buy organic whenever possible especially when it comes to the “dirty dozen
  • invest in a veggie brush, to aid in removing some of the visible dirt and residue
  • still use a veggie spray or a wash of some sort, even on organic produce (to counter bacteria & general people handling) — doing something is better than nothing

≡mar

Entry filed under: Greener options, Health, Recipes. Tags: , , .

The Dirty Dozen Mommy, What’s that Smell?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. snerk  |  May 20, 2008 at 10:52 pm

    What a great idea this blog is!

    Another idea is to try and grow veggies whenever possible. It’d be neat to try and introduce the kiddies to gardening.

    BTW have you guys tried Method cleaning products? Great stuff! No more antibacterial soaps in the world, I say!

    Reply
  • 2. simplesprouts  |  May 21, 2008 at 9:15 pm

    Thanks for the kudos!

    Growing your own veggies is a wonderful idea! Our garden is growing right now and we are hoping for a harvest of beans, spinach, butter lettuce, potatoes and beets (my favourite!).

    We haven’t tried Method yet or fully looked into the products but some of them do contain SLS (Sodium Lauryl Sulfate – a skin irritant).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Want Updates?

Previous Posts


