The Locavore’s Pledge

June 11, 2008 at 10:00 am Leave a comment

Organic Pears from ArgentinaI know that I am often faced with a conundrum when I buy produce. Should I buy imported organic produce or buy the non-organic local variety? Although organic produce isn’t laced with pesticides often times its journey to the grocery store hasn’t fared well for the environment. Take for example my organic pears from Argentina. If they were to pick a flight from Expedia, their shortest trek would take 18 hours and 26 mins and approximately 11,300 kms. What would be the carbon footprint of that journey?

I started looking into what I could do as an alternative to buying produce that has to travel such a long distance just so I could enjoy it. I came across heaps of information on eating foods found locally that it was a bit overwhelming. Did you know that there’s even an Oxford English Dictionary definition for those who try to eat only food grown or produced within a 100-mile radius: locavore.

The next time I am at the supermarket and faced with trying to decide on my produce, there is a guideline I can follow:

The Locavore’s Pledge
If not LOCALLY PRODUCED, then Organic.
If not ORGANIC, then Family farm.
If not FAMILY FARM, then Local business.
If not a LOCAL BUSINESS, then Fair Trade.

Stay tuned for more information about locally grown foods in upcoming posts.

§CC

Entry filed under: Greener options. Tags: , , , .

Going Ga-Ga Over Bottles Getting to Know the Locals

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Want Updates?

Previous Posts