It’s In The Bag

August 6, 2008 at 10:27 pm 2 comments

If you go shopping anywhere (especially for groceries), the “in” thing now is using reusable shopping bags. I’ve got a handful myself, and have them stowed conveniently in the car so that I remember to bring them along with me to carry my purchases. However despite that, I still end up adding to my plastic bag collection every so often, especially after clothes shopping. Having a reusable bag tucked in my purse would probably solve that problem though.

I can proudly say that my collection of plastic bags is not growing at an exponential rate as it did before, but I still have my fair share. I do give my bags several lives before getting rid of them: garbage pail liners, dirty clothes carrier, lunch bags. But a stop at Save-On Foods a few months ago, opened my eyes to the fact that they can be recycled. So now for those plastic bags that are deemed not reusable, I will gather them up and every few months I plan to drop them off at the local Save-On for recycling. Apparently, there are other stores that also offer this service: London Drugs, Safeway, Walmart to name a few.

I ran across a website called myplasticbags.ca. Though it’s a site sponsored by the Canadian Plastics Industry Association, (yes, it seems like a conflict of interest) I found very useful information about recycling plastic bags:

  • how to prepare your bags for recycling (bags need to be empty and clean): empty your plastic bags by turning them inside out and then stuff the empty bags all into one bag
  • municipalities that collect plastic bags curbside for recyling, for example: Delta, Langley, Coquitlam
  • store locator in your area that will take back your plastic bags for recycling

≡mar

Entry filed under: Greener options, Reduce Reuse Recycle. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Passing On Gas The Cleaning Crew

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tree  |  August 18, 2008 at 9:19 pm

    I live in Mission where they also collect plastic bags among our recyclables, but we do have to be careful as not all plastic bags are made recyclable. I have a friend who works in a plastic-making factory in Richmond and he tells me that his company is working very hard at providing recyclable plastic bags — Overwaitea is one of the companies who have contracted them, which will explain what you experienced at Save-on-Foods. However, creating recyclable plastics require some experimenting and my friend has admitted that they have rejected the most current batch of recyclable plastics (due to colour). So, I guess we’ll all still have to remain stringent on our use of plastic bags for now.

    Reply
  • 2. simplesprouts  |  August 19, 2008 at 10:04 pm

    Thanks for the additional info, Tree! We’ll continue to do diligence when it comes to using plastic bags or even recycling them!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Want Updates?

Previous Posts


