Stainless Steel Appeal

September 17, 2008 at 10:54 pm Leave a comment

A few years ago I received a set of stainless steel pots and pans that I had been dreaming about for quite sometime. I was always careful about using them. I wanted to make sure they kept that “see-yourself-in-it” shine. Recently, I started looking into cookware and I realized the cheap non-stick coated frying pan I was using may be costing me a whole lot more than the $5 that I paid for it. Studies have linked perfluorooctanoic acid (PFOA), which is the chemical found in “non-stick” cooking products such as Teflon, to be likely carcinogenic. Apparently, the non-stick coatings are a risk if you heat them beyond 350°C (650°F) or if they are deteriorating.

Though the studies are still up for much debate you may want to consider phasing out some of those grungy, scratched pots and pans that hide in your cupboards. Who knows what kind of chemicals will come off of them when you start heating them. If you are looking for a place to recycle them you can do so at Happy Stan’s Recycling.

Here are some tips from the EWG (Environmental Working Group) for safe cookware and some tips from Health Canada about the safe use of cookware.

Needless to say, I have been pulling out my stainless steel pots and pans to cook with and have just been spending a little more time to get them clean enough for me to see my reflection.

§CC

Entry filed under: Health. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Making Deposits Freebies To Go

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Want Updates?

Previous Posts


