Hard Working Moms

October 29, 2008 at 7:58 pm 5 comments

I have to brag that I got in some “me” time, time without the kids, this past weekend. And though it didn’t include lounging around in my PJs, a spa treatment, or lunch with girlfriends, it was still very mind-replenishing. My dear hubby graciously took care of all 3 kidlets while I went to the Baby Purity Mother’s Conference that I had blogged about previously.

At first I was a bit unsure of the conference only because my sister couldn’t come with me and I really don’t enjoy going to things like this alone. When I arrived, I browsed the several info and vendor booths, like Green Zebra, yoyomama, inBed organics, Better Baby Bums to name a few, and picked up business cards and info sheets. And though one of the guest speakers that I was looking forward to hearing, Christopher Gavigan, had to cancel last minute due to family circumstances, the line-up of speakers that were there was nonetheless interesting and informative. The focus was mainly about chemicals in our everyday things that affect our health and well-being more than we know and the intriguing connection between the gut and allergies in kids. There was a lot of information to take in. Though there was a Q&A period at the end and one of the speakers, Margaret Evans, a RN and life coach, advised us to not feel overwhelmed but rather take one thing out of the conference and work on that, I couldn’t help but still feel like there is so much still for me to do, for me to look into. But that is me: a bit of a worry-wart.

I felt a connection with the 100 or so moms, plus a few dads, there. It was a camaraderie with strangers; moms/parents with the same interest as mine: providing the best we can for our children. I lunched with people I didn’t know and we talked about weaning, formula and stainless steel containers. I met the incredible one-woman force behind Yoyomama, Annemarie Tempelman-Kluit. I chatted with Lisa Frack, Online Parent Organizer for EWG and a blogger for Enviroblog, who was sweet enough to seek me out and offer a follow-up email to a question I posed during the Q&A period. And I introduced myself to Sydney Carlaw, the dynamic person behind Baby Purity. Now, I barely know her. But from the tiniest bit of email correspondence I had with her, and the casual “Hi” and “Thank-you for the conference”, I must say that she is one incredible woman (with most likely an extremely supportive hubby). Most of us, including myself, would love to fulfill our dreams but few of us have the tenacity and patience to follow through. This was her dream and she really made it possible to share it with us.

The conference ended with a ton of giveaways, and though I didn’t end up with one of the fancy gift baskets or the G-diapers or the blender, I came away happy knowing that there are moms out there: like Annemarie, like Lisa and like Sydney, who are working hard to share their knowledge and experience; enabling us to raise our children the best way we can.

By the way, one of topics for next year’s conference is the immunization debate. As for the fee, Sydney is working on reducing the cost by finding more sponsors. Looking forward to next year.

≡mar

Entry filed under: Activities & Events, Family, Great finds, Health. Tags: , , , , , , .

The Gift of Giving Home Sick for Homemade

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. faemom  |  October 29, 2008 at 8:59 pm

    That sounded like a fascinating conference.

    Reply
  • 2. Stephanie @ Keeper of the Home  |  October 30, 2008 at 2:46 pm

    It was neat to be there with so many other like-minded moms, wasn’t it? I didn’t get to spend a lot of time chatting with others (except for those at the booths and the speakers), but still, it was so good to be there and know that we all cared about so many of the same things.

    I’m really looking forward to it next year. Maybe we’ll get to connect then! 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. simplesprouts  |  October 30, 2008 at 2:57 pm

    faemom: yes, it was a good learning-conference…perhaps they have something like that in the States?

    stephanie: it would be nice to connect with you; hope to see you next year!

    Reply
  • 4. Sydney  |  November 24, 2008 at 10:34 am

    Thank you so much, what a wonderful blog. You have said some really sweet things that mean a great deal.
    It’s wonderful comments like these that keep me going when it feels overwhelming. Look forward to spending more time with you next year…
    Sydney

    Reply
  • 5. simplesprouts  |  December 8, 2008 at 11:20 am

    Sydney: I’m really amazed at how you can do it. I find it challenging enough keeping up with our little blog, along with accomplishing my mommy and wifely duties too.

    mar

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Want Updates?

Previous Posts


