Squeaky, Clean Locks

December 3, 2008 at 9:53 pm 2 comments

Curelle productsI’ve been slowly changing the products that my family uses on their body, face, and hair; trying to replace them with ones that are safer for us and for the environment. It hasn’t been easy since it’s hard to decipher what is really “good” out there versus what appears good but is still full of chemicals and junk.

In the process, I stumbled upon a brochure about Curelle at my local organic grocer. It was about the toxic stuff found in our regular shampoos and conditioners. Then it went on to claim that the ingredients used in their hair products are “plant derived, solvent-free, and contains no toxins”. I was skeptical and took the brochure home to look more into it. I punched the ingredients into EWG’s Skin Deep Database and it came up with ratings of 2 and less. Then I did a bit of online searching and found that it was one of the better shampoos in Environmental Health Association of Nova Scotia’s Guide to Less Toxic Products. In addition, Curelle is a local company based in Vancouver. These were all good enough reasons for me to give it a try.

I picked up the Hydra Shampoo, Riche Conditioner and Build-Up Remover Treatment and it was all reasonably priced. $13.99 for 500ml bottles and $8.99 for 250ml bottles, and the 70ml bottle of the Build-Up Remover set me back $3.99. There is also the Energe Shampoo (for volume) and the Treslite Conditioner (for lighter conditioning). They also have some styling products and a moisturizing body lotion in their product line.

I’ve been using it for awhile now and I am satisfied with the results. It seems to give the umph that my thick, curly hair needs and tame the frizz. In addition, the conditioner can be used as a leave-in, so sometimes I smooth a dime-size amount into my hair to calm the fly-aways. The downsides, I’m a bit addicted to scented shampoos and conditioners so I am still getting use to the fact that the products are scent-free and also it lathers differently (less bubbles) so I probably end up using more than I need.

If you want more information about the Curelle products you can check out this link, because unfortunately, their website is still under construction.

What products do you use? Any suggestions for ones to try or advices for ones to stay away from?

≡mar

Entry filed under: Greener options, Health. Tags: , , , , .

Goodies Made With Love All I Want for Christmas……

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Hair On The Brain  |  December 4, 2008 at 2:50 pm

    i really like Oscar Blandi Pronto Dry Shampoo. it works great and smells like lemons! 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. simplesprouts  |  December 8, 2008 at 10:44 am

      I’ve actually never thought of dry shampoo……thanks for the suggestion. I had a quick look at Oscar Blandi and I would like to find a product with less number of ingredients. I had a browse through your blog, looks like you’ve got quite the know-how on hair, let me know if you run across a dry shampoo that’s greener.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Want Updates?

Previous Posts


