All I Want for Christmas……

December 17, 2008 at 10:12 pm 2 comments

christmas-giftsWith a little over a week left before Christmas the clock is ticking for me to finish all my Christmas shopping. I still have a few important gifts that I need to get and those would be ones for my kids and my nieces and nephew. Typically, these ones are the first on my list to get completed because it’s always easy enough for me to go to the mall and pick up the latest toy or gadget. This year is a little different as I am trying to avoid all the mainstream toys that can potentially contain toxins. On top of that, I want to make sure that I pick up toys that I know my kids will genuinely be interested in and don’t want to get the first “eco-friendly” toy I can find.

I needed a little help this year and received this handy little tool from my sister. I love the Skin Deep Database for cosmetics and beauty products. The GoodGuide is its equivalent for household products including toys, household and personal care. Toys are rated out of 10 and contain information about chemical contamination levels as well as the products’ environmental and social impacts. They rate not only companies that are “green” but also mainstream toy companies as well, such as Fisher Price, Hasbro and others. I wish I could go to the store with a little handheld “eco-detector” to ensure that the things I pick and purchase for my home are safe but until there actually is such a thing, this online guide will do.

Happy Shopping, Everyone!

§CC

Entry filed under: Family, Greener options. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Squeaky, Clean Locks Stainless Steel Giveaway

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stephanie @ Keeper of the Home  |  December 18, 2008 at 10:06 am

    Thanks for the good guide link! I’m excited to check it out!

    Reply
  • 2. Lisa  |  December 18, 2008 at 10:52 pm

    Thanks for some great info! I’ll be looking at what “stuff” is in my food, toys, cosmetics, etc. Also, a comment on Wild West Organics from a previous month – it’s a great find. I’ve been going since the summer and you can get some great deals!

    Keep up the good research and tips! You guys have an enjoyable blog! Thank you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Want Updates?

Previous Posts


