Blue Bin Etiquette

January 15, 2009 at 11:13 pm 1 comment

Blue BinHappy New Year! We hope you have managed to escape all our snow relatively unscathed!

With the arrival of the New Year also means the arrival of a new curbside garbage pick up schedule. There’s a permanent location on our fridge for the schedule. I periodically refer to it after a holiday or when I need to find out what can and cannot be thrown out and recycled. To tell you the truth, I am a little ignorant when it comes to putting stuff into the blue bin. I put things that I think should be recycled but don’t necessarily know if they are actually suppose to be there. My husband puts out the bin and I keep my fingers crossed that all the items are actually emptied out of it. I did a bit of research and have found out that there are actually quite a few resources out there to help you find out if you can recycle items or where you can recycle them. Did you know that you can bring your old cell phones to thINK Food who takes old cell phones as a fundraiser for local foodbanks?  The Recycling Council of BC offers a great resource for all things recyclable. They offer great tips, education, and services for recycling. There is even a materials exchange where you can buy and sell items that can be reused.

According to MetroVancouver.org, “currently, residents and business recycle just over half of the 3.5 million tonnes of garbage, or solid waste, created in the region each year”. So my goal this year is to work towards zero waste. The Zero Waste Challenge is part of the regions’ Solid Waste Management Plan. The 5R’s of the Zero Waste Challenge are Reduce, Reuse, Recycle, Recover and Residuals.  I have adopted some of the principles and hope to incorporate the rest of them.

§CC

Entry filed under: Reduce Reuse Recycle. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Happy Snow Day A Greener Dine-Out Vancouver

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Stephanie @ Keeper of the Home  |  January 16, 2009 at 4:12 pm

    Ah yes, I do a bit of finger crossing with my blue bin, too. 🙂

    Thanks for the zero waste link. That’s something I was working towards last year quite a bit, and then slowed down on the last few months. I’d like to get back on the bandwagon this spring.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Want Updates?

Previous Posts


